A weekend in Chicago, Twist Out Cancer and my Best friend

This past weekend I had the opportunity to travel to one of if not my favorite city Chicago to attend a event I participated in through Twist out cancer called brushes with cancer I was paired with a amazing artist who created a peice off our conversations about life cancer and more. I also got to spend the weekend with my best friend a friend that cancer brought us into each others lives but a true and beautiful friendship way deeper and beyond cancer grew. I wanted to talk more in detail about the weekend than I was able to on a post. I’ll have links to twist out cancer brushes with cancer and the art gallery.

To start off this opportunity and whole experience with Twist out Cancer happened because I was in Chicago last June at a conference giving a speech and was introduced to this organization by a person that is so important in my life Chris Evans the CEO of colon cancer coalition. But over a few months I connected with a artist they paired me with Naimah Thomas “a link to her work is below” we connected and just talked about everything for a few different hour long sessions from my life before and since cancer to my cancer journey to my advocacy and what I am into in this life. It was a experience unlike any other and they was a very positive thing for me in a time that I needed it and I suggest anyone that’s been impacted by cancer go to the website and apply when applications are open for this experience. When I realized I was going be able to attend in person it also just made it that much more special.

Chicago is one of if not my favorite city I’ve been to. I love NYC and Seattle Denver Orlando Atlanta Phoenix and others but the vibe the skyline the people the old school scene the bars just everything in the city I absolutely love. This time there got to explore more places more restaurants the Riverwalk Navy Pier got to make it all the way up to Glencoe neighborhood just a all around amazing time amazing food incredible drinks and for once got to share it and show the city to someone else for the first time.

Getting to share this whole experience with my best friend was something that took a great experience and made it unforgettable. Amy Hart is a friend that I never knew I needed and now part of my life that I never want to live without. She had never been to Chicago before so got to explore some of the Michigan avenue area Navy Pier and some great food that Chicago has to offer but having someone there who can relate to what I’ve been through because she been through it as well was everything so to share this experience through art in a great city was unforgettable. Her support is unmatched her belief in me blows me away, she listens to my crazy mental issues validates me but is honest and calls me out when needed which is one of many reasons call her my best friend, and it meant the world to me this weekend.

A week later I’m looking back at the experience since I got the email saying I was apart of this experience to meeting on zoom with my artist to the conversations and finally seeing my art piece to getting to Chicago having fun watching the Cubs and final four in some amazing Chicago bars to spending the weekend with my best friend from exploring to just talking about life then the experience at the art gallery when I add it all up it’s a very incredible and unforgettable weekend that I will always enjoy the memories from. Thank you to everyone who has a part in it.

Check out my best friends pages and blog https://barefootostomate.wordpress.com/?fbclid=PAAaZz6cateO0tzLblQI5YgI0KT4A4l3vEP6UhsCbHQU_DSMy4KG9L9sRO96w

This is the website for the amazing organization Twist out cancer https://www.twistoutcancer.org/?fbclid=IwAR2tqm7GOvWSbTeXHfulnothhAD-mz-b5JxEsfJ598GQMRWO2_uHUaijjlU

A look at all the art pieces from brushes with cancer https://www.twistoutcancer.org/spring2024artwork/

The amazing artist I was paired with https://naimahthomasart.com/?fbclid=PAAabewnlDR5fMlnHdcT8955Yo7HnS8v28ZLgN0fZm-jtMUG8vLPy30mGT2BY

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close